Good News and Bad news: My favorite book……

When I was in elementary school, I read a book that really touched my heart, it opened my eyes to other peoples hidden pain. The author came to visit our school and I cried with him.

I’ve shared it with many friends and teachers over the years, eventually losing my signed copy. Last night, I was looking for it in our library’s catalog, they don’t have it. This lead me to searching Google and Amazon.  I found 2 things that gave me Good News and Bad News.

The author, Jennings Michael Burch, passed away January 15, 2013 at the age of 71. This book details his incredibly sad childhood. His single mother placed him in foster care when he was 8 years old. Between 1949 and 1954, he bounced through 32 foster homes and orphanages, suffered abuse and lost a brother.

They Cage The Animals at Night is being made into a movie. Well, it was going to be made.  It appears the finding campaign ended, in February, not even close to the funding goal. Now I’m back to being sad. Maybe they will try again.

I am planning to read this book with my oldest. A “Me and Mom Book Club” sort of. If anyone would like to join us, here is a link to the paperback and to the digital copies. Comment below if you would like to meet up at the library for a book chat.

Image

Leave a Reply

